Gellan Gum Vegan

As a new edible hydrophilic colloid, gellan gum has been used by more and more vegetarian producers.

It is made by fermentation of sphingomonas bacteria and sugars. The main ingredients are glucose syrup, soya flour, yeast extract, white granulated sugar, sodium citrate and other additives. There are no ingredients of animal origin and no animal products are involved in the production process. So it is considered TOTAL VEGAN.

gellan gum low acyl

Gellan gum is mainly used as a thickening agent or gelling agent in food formulations. It is being used in desserts, jellies, jams, almond milk, beverage and many other foods. As a vegan gel, it has began to replace animal colloids, such as gelatin (derived from animals) in many food applications.

gellan gum fiber drum

Of course, for vegetarians, it’s a good idea to check the label of any vegetarian food to rule out non-vegetarian recipes.

Scroll to Top